Two CTN Youth Win Scholarships

news image

At CTN’s Annual General Meeting on June 15, 2016, we were privileged to announce two deserving students who were awarded the Ontario Association of Children’s Rehabilitation Services (OACRS) Scholarships for Fall 2016.

Amina and Mitchell were recognized for their efforts throughout high school and supported to pursue their post-secondary education.  Jennifer Churchill, CEO of OACRS presented them with the awards, sharing some of the highlights from their respective applications that were submitted and supported by their team.

Those who nominated Amina said that she has endless enthusiasm for learning new skills and taking on new challenges. She is a mentor, community volunteer and an advocate. Amina has overcome extreme adversity that very few people would ever encounter in life- and done so with poise and dignity. She embodies the meaning of resilience, strength and positivity.  She draws people to her and develops a strong sense of team with those she works with at both home and school. Amina is pursuing an education in a social services worker program.

Mitchell is a deeply principled, energetic ideas-guy with a gift for educating and inspiring through communication. He is recognized as a disability mentor, advocate, activist and journalist and described as a powerful communicator through radio broadcasts and presentations to educate, raise disability awareness and create mutual understanding between disabled and non- disabled students and adults. Mitchell is described as a role model for his peers and brought a level of dignity to the school in every area of his involvement.  He is multi-talented, funny and mature. Mitchell will be studying journalism in the fall.

The OACRS scholarship program was created in 2011 to recognize students who have been served by an Ontario children’s treatment centre, and who are pursuing post-secondary education or a career goal. This year, OACRS awarded five $1000 scholarships across Ontario. For more information on the program please click here.

Please join us in congratulating both recipients and wishing them all the best in their studies this fall!